National Symbols Of India – 15 National Symbols of India

National Symbols Of India:- India is a vast subcontinent consisting of various cultures – divided by language, food, religion, culture, dance, social activities – united by nationality. The national symbols of India represent the culture and nature of India’s identity which instills pride in its countrymen and signifies unity in diversity. They are the pride and heritage of our country. Therefore, we must know about these intrinsic national symbols of India.


National Symbols Of India
National Symbols Of India

1. National Flag: Tiranga

Tiranga is the National Flag of India. It is rectangular and tricolour with equally sized saffron sitting at the top, white in the middle and green at the bottom. At the centre of the flag is a blue colored wheel consisting of 24 spokes, known as The Ashoka Chakra. every part of the Tiranga has its own meaning and significance. The saffron colour indicates courage and sacrifice. The white middle part signifies peace, purity and honsety. The bottom green part signifies faith and prosperity.

2. National Emblem: Ashoka Chakra

The national emblem of India is an adaptation of the Lion Capital of Ashoka at Sarnath. The LIon Capitol is made up of four lion which are standing back to back, mounted on a circular abacus. On the abacus four sculptures namely of a horse, an elephant, a bull and a lion are carved. These sculptures are then seperated by wheels. The National motto of India – ” Satyameva Jayate” is engraved on the National Emblem of India.

3. National Anthem: Jana Gana Mana

Jana Gana Mana is declared as our National Anthem of India. It was composed by Rabindranath Tagore and was originally known as Bharoto Bhagyo Bidhata. The Constituent Assembly of India adopted the first stanza of Bharoto Bhagyo Bidhata as The National Anthem on 24 January 1950.

4. National Song: Vande Mataram

Vande Mataram is the National song of India. It is a Sanskrit poem written by Bankim Chandra Chatterjee in his Bengali novel Anandamath. Rabindranath Tagore first sang the song at the 1896 session of the Indian National Congress. The Constituent Assembly of India adopted the first two verses of the song as the National Song of India on 24 January 1950.

5. National Pledge: Oath of Allegiance

The Oath of Allegiance is the National Pledge of India. It was written by Pydimarri Venkata Subba Rao in Telugu language in 1962. The practice of singing the pledge in schools was introduced in 26 January, 1965 by the Central Advisory Board on Education. We Indians proudly recite our National Anthem at public events during the Independence Day and the Republic Day.

6. National Flower: Lotus

Lotus is the National Flower of India. Lotus (scientific name: Nelumbo Nucifera Gaertn) is considered as sacred and has unique significance and importance in the ancient art and mythology of India. It is used in many religious and ceremonial functions of India, especially in the Hindu religion.

7. National Animal: Tiger

The Tiger (scientific name: Panthera Tigris) has a subspecies called The Royal Bengal tiger which is the National Animal of India. Nagpur is called ‘the Tiger Capital of India’. The Tiger belongs to the cat family and is the largest among the cat species. It can be easilt recognized by its dark vertical stripes on orange fur. Being an apex predator, it preys on smaller herbivores. Earlier they were found abundantly but due to the decrease in their natural habitat and poaching for their hide, it has been added to the Red List and declared as endangered species.

Some more articles like National Symbols Of India:-

Top 10 Exams In India – Toughest Competitive Entrance Exam

National Doctor’s Day In India – 1st July- True Facts and History

Budget 2022 Key Points | India

Republic Day In India – History And Interesting Facts About January 26

8. National Reptile: The King Cobra

The King Cobra (scientific name: Ophiophagus hanna) is the National Reptile of India. It is a species of venomous snake common to the jungles of South and South-east Asia. It can be distinguished by other varieties of cobra by its size and colour. It is the longest venomous snake and can grow up to 19 ft. In Hindu religion, The King Cobra is considered as sacred and they even celebrate a festival as ‘ Naag Panchami ‘. The Hindu God, Lord Shiva, is depicted as having a cobra wrapped around his neck.

9. National Tree: The Banyan

The Banyan Tree (scientific name: Ficus bengalensis) is the National Tree of India. Also known as The Indian Banyan is a tree native to the Indian Subcontinent. The specimen in India are among the largest trees with respect to canopy coverage. They are considered as sacred and believed to have immortality.

10. National Bird: Indian Peacock

Indian Peacock (scientific name: Pavo cristatus) is the national bird of India. Also known as the Indian Peafowl or the blue Peafowl is a peafowl species native to the Indian subcontinent. The male peafowl are referred to as peacocks and the females are known as peahens. The peacock is the representation of the unity of vivid colours of the Indian culture. The Government of India declared the Peacock as the National Bird of India on 1 February 1963.

11. National Fruit: Mango

The Mango (scientific name: Mangifera Indica) is declared as the National Fruit as the National symbols of India. It is an edible stone fruit typically common in tropical climate of south and southeast Asia. Mango is also referred as the King of Fruits due to its rich and sweet taste. Mango trees grow upto 30 to 40 metres tall with a spread crown radius of 10-15 metres. They are long lived some trees living as long as 300 years.

12. National River: Ganga

The Holy Ganga is the National River of India. It originates from the glaciers of The Himalayas. Flowing through the majority of northern India, Ganga along with its territories serves as the lifeline of millions of people and living beings. In Hindu culture, it is worshipped as a sacred deity goddess. It has also been historically Important as some of the most significant capitals and cities were built along its coast.

13. National Currency: The Indian Rupee

The Indian Rupee is the National Currency of India. It is derived from the Devanagari consonant “र” and was adopoted in the year 2010. It was designed by Udaya Kumar. The Reserve Bank of India controlls the issue of the currency.

14. National Game: Hockey

Hockey is considered as the National Game of India. Hockey is a team sport in which two teams each consisting of 11 players each. The Bengal Hockey was the first hockey association in India founded in 1908.

15. National Heritage Animal: Indian Elephant

Indian Elephant (scientific name: Elephas Maximus indicus) was declared as the National Heritage Animal of India on 22 October 2010. The Indian Elephant is one of the three subspecies found in the mainland of Asia. It has been listed on the IUCN Red List since its population has declined drastically due to loss of its natural habitat and also due to illegal poaching for its tooth which is considered to have medicinal properties. Historically, it has been used in fighting wars as well as for transportation of heavy goods and as carriages for the Maharajas of India.

So, these are 15 National symbols of India if you want to read articles like this in future also then do follow us on telegram also – Click here

Read Previous

How To Calculate Income Tax | Year 2022-2023

Read Next

Advantage and Disadvantage Of Trading

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *